Feedback by UserVoice

How can we improve Word for Mac? Vote for an existing idea or share a new one.

Word count

Please bring back the "words out of total" view, which very easily shows us how many words we have of the total word count in a document. It's ridiculous that you have removed this option from Word for Mac 2016. I'm dumping it straightaway and going back to Word for Mac 2011.

288 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

DeeCee shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

131 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I am a professional writer and need the live word count. I installed Word 2016 and it's not there. It was also removed from Word 2011, that's why I installed 2016. Please bring it back!

• Jeromy Caballero commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

As a marketing copywriter with specific word counts to adhere to, I was always using that feature. I'm disappointed that it's not in the 2016 version! That was a big oversight by Microsoft. This, along with a few other features, is pushing me back to the 2011 version.

• Alex Planidin commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Just upgraded and now find this essential feature missing (and googled it to find out what happened). Why remove it???
        I'll be going back to Word 2011 too. Please add this feature asap.

I am an editor and I absolutely need to be able to see a live word count of the partial document at any point. Please restore that feature.

• Graham commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate