Feedback by UserVoice

How can we improve Word for Mac? Vote for an existing idea or share a new one.

Comment Numbers

Please bring back the comment numbers to Word. I am a professor with a cerebral palsy, and I dictate all my comments for my students. I used to be able to say "comment 1, comment 2, etc." for my transcriber to easily follow my dictations. Now, I have to physically add each comment number to ensure that the correct comment goes in the correct box. By removing the comment numbers, it is now much more laborious of a task to comment on my student's papers. Please bring this feature back!

92 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Dr. Alette Coble-Temple shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

34 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Is this 'Under Review' a hoax?? You have been reviewing this for YEARS. Please do something and fix this mess you created when you removed comment numbering!!

Microsoft shows this as 'Under Review' for a couple of YEARS..thousands of people have been complaining for years about his and Microsoft does not care...they blow off the problem they created with a statement saying UNDER REVIEW..what B.S. To appease a bunch of angry users. MS has no intention of fixing this as if they did, it would have been fixed years ago. Stop BS'ing everyone Microsoft!

• Moises Martinez commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Not having numbers in the comment bubbles is a major issue! I routinely work on documents of 50-100 pages and they may contain over 100 comments. It is very hard to tell reviewers to look at the comment on page 58, 5th paragraph, 2nd sentence. In 2010 all I had to do was say to look at Comment 43.