Feedback by UserVoice

How can we improve Word for Mac? Vote for an existing idea or share a new one.

Comment Numbers

Please bring back the comment numbers to Word. I am a professor with a cerebral palsy, and I dictate all my comments for my students. I used to be able to say "comment 1, comment 2, etc." for my transcriber to easily follow my dictations. Now, I have to physically add each comment number to ensure that the correct comment goes in the correct box. By removing the comment numbers, it is now much more laborious of a task to comment on my student's papers. Please bring this feature back!

49 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Dr. Alette Coble-Temple shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

14 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Yup..I have over 35 dissertation students, each with documents ranging from 250-1200 pages..the inability to have comments autonumbered for the committee and students to use is an enormous problem. I had to revert to version 2011 for Mac that is not supported and frankly problematic with using Apple High Sierra..it's a disaster all because Microsoft eliminated the auto numbering feature!!

I am currently editing a document that has 4 reviewers and 140+ comments, and I need a way to organize them. I am shocked that the ability to number comments has been taken out of Word 2016, and is making me regret my upgrade from 2010 to 2016, as every other feature I use is exactly the same except for this one, which is causing me a lot of problems.