Feedback by UserVoice

How can we improve Word for Mac? Vote for an existing idea or share a new one.

Restore (to Word for Mac 2016) ability to hide "reviewer, time stamp" in comment balloons

In Word for Mac 2011, I could set my Preferences > Reviewing to hide the reviewer, time stamp, and action buttons in comment balloons. I liked this because I am a writing teacher and I make a lot of comments. With my name and the time stamp on ever one, it takes up too much space, often spilling past the margins and into a sidebar or a bottom-bar.

In Word for Mac 2016, this function is removed, and I really need it back. Please. It's a simple little checkbox. I and my students are severely inconvenienced by this. Thank you.

95 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Patrick Madden shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

44 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Nathan commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

We should have the ability to turn on or off any part of the "Track Changes". Some people can't have their names for privacy reasons. Some find that allowing others to know what date the changes where made or what time (usually because it's embarrassingly late) is something they need to avoid. I often have to change the date/time on my computer when I'm working on a document just to get around this problem. (and if I forget, it's a lot of cutting and pasting so something like a 3:00am time stamp doesn't show up. Haha). It seems like a super easy feature to implement even if it isn't often used.

• Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate