Feedback by UserVoice

How can we improve Word for Mac? Vote for an existing idea or share a new one.

Bring back a fully functional VBE (visual basic editor)

We need to import .bas files containing macros prepared in Office 2011and cannot do it.

179 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Anonymous shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

20 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Jason Sweeney commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

It's now April 2018 -- Any updates here Microsoft?! I'm a lawyer, rely on functionality of numerous custom macros triggered by buttons on custom toolbar in Word for Mac 2011, now am trying to upgrade to Word for Mac 2016 and can't seem to add macro buttons anywhere to anything in Word for Mac 2016. Unbelievably pathetic.

• John_461 commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Just checking in on this ONE YEAR year after the Word Product Team marked this as "Started."

It's now Jan. 30, 2017, this feature was first requested on Nov. 5, 2015, and the last word from Microsoft was Jan. 29, 2016.

I do not see any appreciable improvements in the Visual Basic Editor as of version 15.30.

Could someone please provide a status update?

Pretty Please?

All we're asking for is for Word Mac 2016 to have the same VBE features we had in Word Mac 2011. I'm pretty sure I'm not the only user who skipped Word 2008 entirely due to lack of macro support, and I would have done so again with Word 2016 if not for the misleading representations from Microsoft that VBA would be fully functional and supported in Word 2016 for Mac.